RSS

#openphd

21 Sep

I am getting lots of comments, suggestions of resources, some offers help, etc.,  coming in from just the first two posts on the Open PhD blog. There appears to be a lot of interest in this idea and whether we can make it work.  I say “we”  meaning the collective blogosphere, Twittersphere, and edusphere since, collectively, you all know more than I do, and you will be my teaching assistants in this process, along with a myriad of websites, and other resources.

You are in my PLN! (Should we make T-shirts?)  😉

Some of you are beginning to tweet your suggestions and questions to me as well – and you have great questions!  I want to be sure everyone gets to see them.  However, I use Twitter for a variety of reasons – most of them academic – but for various different aspects of my academic career. To help make it a little easier to track which tweets apply to this project, I’ve registered a Twitter hashtag  #openphd.

If you are replying to me or tweeting original content about my pursuit of a “D-I-Y PhD” (a nod to @paul_bone for that term), please include the #openphd hashtag. Other interested readers will then be able to search the topic out more easily.  (If you are unfamiliar with using hashtags in Twitter, you can find out about it here).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2009 in The Plan

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “#openphd

  1. Jodi Schneider

    September 22, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I’m not really sure what the state-of-the-art is in twitter archiving these days. There are two approaches: archive everything from people who use the hashtag, then filter, or use a tool (like twapperkeeper that claims to archive the hashtag. There are lots of small programs for archiving–the basics are pretty straightforward for someone who knows a little programming.

    Here are a few roundups of bigger tools–YMMV:

    Read-Write Web, 10 ways…
    Make Use Of…(pardon the ads)

     
    • Lisa

      September 22, 2009 at 1:26 pm

      Thanks, Jodi. I did a little digging and found Twapperkeeper also. I’ve set it up already. You can follow the RSS feed for the archives on the right hand side of the blog (labeled Twitter Archiver for #openphd). I will probably have to tweak it a few times over the next few days as I figure out what is the best way to keep track of what is coming in.

       
  2. Jodi Schneider

    September 22, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I hope you will consider archiving tweets with this hashtag. Twitter limits searching, so the only way to find all these tweets later is pulling them out now.

    You could make daily or weekly post with all the tweets (yours and others’), or find another suggestion for how to aggregate and share these.

     
    • Lisa

      September 22, 2009 at 11:13 am

      This is a good idea. I am still a Twitter neophyte, so I will have to do some digging to figure out the best way (and place on the blog) to put this. I was feeling very “advanced Twitter” when I got the hashtag added in…lol.

       

Leave a Reply

 
