RSS

#lrnchat on Twitter

19 Sep

My newest discovery, which will rapidly expand my PLN and inform my teaching, came last Thursday night on Twitter.  I keep finding more and more value in what I first dismissed as “so much background noise” a few years ago (please keep your chuckles to a minimum).

On Twitter, I follow a few prominent eLearning educators, and on Thursday night I kept seeing a bunch of their tweets with the #lrnchat hashtag at the end of their messages.  These messages were posting fast and furious; the educators were in full tweetchat mode.  By clicking on the hashtag, my Twitter account performed a search of everyone using  #lrnchat and voila! I discovered a whole lot of tweeple were holding a live chat.  It was a huge group of globally-located, diversely-credentialed twitterers tweeting on the topic of learning and learners.

Amazing!

And so cool!

I was immediately hooked.

The chats are much easier to follow if you use a service called TweetChat.  Be sure to get your timezone figured out ahead of time and be sure to introduce yourself both at the beginning and at the end of the session.  There is a blog site here that explains the ins and outs, FAQs, tips, etc., of #lrnchat which I highly recommend you read before starting . I only found the site after the chat ended and the information would’ve been helpful to know (*insert wry grin*).  Site administrators also post a transcript of the chat afterwords, so don’t feel like you have to keep up with reading every tweet while trying to compose your own – this is very tough to do as ideas and questions are posting rapidly.  Hope to see you there next Thursday!

#lrnchat is an online chat that happens every Thursday night 8:30-10pm EST / 5:30-7pm PST over the social messaging service Twitter. Participants are people interested in the topic of learning from one another and who want to discuss how to help other people learn.

The official Twitter account is @lrnchat.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2009 in The Plan

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “#lrnchat on Twitter

  1. Hodges model

    September 19, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for this Tweetchat sounds great. This next week or so I’ll revisit the e-learning, educational resources listed at:

    http://www.p-jones.demon.co.uk/links.htm

    and add these. I’ve ignored twitter tho the listings are edu-tech monsters of sorts… 😉

    Can we exchange blog roll links?

    http://hodges-model.blogspot.com/

    Best regards
    Peter
    ——
    Peter Jones
    http://hodges-model.blogspot.com/
    Hodges’ Health Career – Care Domains – Model
    http://www.p-jones.demon.co.uk/
    h2cm: help2Cmore – help-2-listen – help-2-care
    http://twitter.com/h2cm

     
    • Lisa

      September 19, 2009 at 11:35 am

      Looks like you’ve got a bit of a blogging headstart on me – lol – but feel free to grab any links you want! I’m a notorious link”napper” myself. Twitter is my newest tech adoption and I am finding I like it more and more as I discover more ways to use it – there is so much more to it than I ever realized.

      Lisa

       

Leave a Reply

 
